The Celine Effect

P1100635-26So much in fashion at the moment is in the effect of Phoebe Philo for Celine. Celine was originally launched in 1945 as a children’s made-to-measure shoe business. It expanded into adult footwear, handbags and women’s sportswear during the sixties.

 

 

 

2011-(04)-april16 

For over forty years Celine was led by  Madame Céline Vipiana.  Michael Kors took the reins rom 1997 to 2004. In September 2008 the label announced that ex-Chloe designer Phoebe Philo would step in,  beginning with a fall 2009 collection. I love  sportswear separates. I am not a big “dress” person. Casual clothing works for me.

My ode to Celine is based on an out of print Vogue Pattern. I used Sophia double-knit fabric in Spanish Olive from Vogue Fabrics. The color goes with black, gray, blue or brown. It works with everything one would already own. I have enjoyed wearing it. I call it “Celine”.

Leave a Reply

