The Dressmakers Handbook

 

I received the Dressmaker’s Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques by Lynda Maynard this week. It seemed to be a long wait. The wait was so worth it. It is a marvelous book. It is heavily illustrated with step by step tutorials. The photography is clear and concise. The book is very current. Couturier fashion examples are as current as 2009. There are many finishing techniques I would have thought more difficult, that are laid out very simply. It is a step by step confidence builder.

For many of the techniques the Dressmakers Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques has a guide to fabrics suited for couturier results. It is an eye opener. I have a new appreciation of silk organza, challis and flannel as underlining. Recently I made a pair of wool gabardine trousers that I felt were a bit light in weight. I considered lining or under lining them with a rayon lining. When occasion arises again, I will be underlining them with challis. There is an assortment of hemming styles, some of which I am looking forward to trying. Off to play and learn.

Here are a few peeks into this wonderful book.

P1060160P1060161P1060162P1060163P1060158P1060165P1060157P1060164
One response to “The Dressmakers Handbook

  1. This book has been on my wish list for quite a while. The pictures look fantastic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

