No American Sewing

This weekend I had planned to travel to Kansas City to the American Sewing and Quilting Expo.  It is a nice road trip my cousin and I took last year. He headed on to his alumni festivities at University of Kansas while I trolled the convention in Kansas City. After experiencing the cold and the flu in the past 10 days, I thought a road trip would not be a good idea this weekend. There has still been some excitement in the face of disappointment.

I missed the opportunity to shop Vogue Fabrics at the Expo. Never the less, I got my fabric shop in on Saturday. The weather was gorgeous for the first time this week. I got some woolens on sale for basic pants, a suit and a novelty piece for a vest. With coupons in hand I was happy with the results. That made up for the trip to KC.

While out, I lucked upon a Silhouette Pattern event at Hancock’s. Sewing with a Plan(SWAP) was the theme of the event. The representative of Silhouette presented patterns made from in stock Hancock fabric with the goal of interchangeability to build a wardrobe.  Sorry to say, I was not impressed. Silhouette has some good basic patterns in their line up. The presentation using in stock Hancock fabric did not make for a fashionable show. The representative often referred to their construction techniques as better than the big 3 because of the use of factory techniques. I was not impressed.

Silhouette addresses the need of varied cup sizes in their patterns. The big 3 are almost always based on a B cup. Most of American is not a B cup. I am fortunate that one of the adjustments I do not have to make is for cup size when cutting a pattern. I don’t have to make the dreaded FBA every time I cut a pattern. I have other issues. It made for a nice couple of hours in an afternoon, but I don’t think I will become a fan of Silhouette patterns.

Leave a Reply

