Polka dots

This is by far one of the most unattractive things I have ever made. It is dumpy and ugly looking, hanging on the dressform. I doubt if I bring much more to the garment. I would like to think so but that would probably be only in my mind. I like the polka dot top. The fabric is a nice cotton knit from Marcy Tilton, I bought last year. The pattern is Butterick 5219.  A little contrast would probably have been nice just to break up the sea of polka dots. There was a bonus in the situation. I took some of the very few scraps left to make some piping. That little punch will be welcomed on some little T-shirt this summer. A little goes a long way with a polka dot.

Looks aside, I realize now I have narrow shoulders. It is an adjustment to be made at the neckline of the style of blouse.  I will keep that in mind this summer. It’s always something to keep in mind. Off I go, full of polka dots.

Leave a Reply

